Malcolm Saville Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

A Collectors Reference Guide

      Find an Author

More Information
Malcolm Saville, born 21 February 1901 to 1982, was a prolific author best remembered for his much loved Lone Pine series. As well as being a favourite amongst readers they are very collectable. VG+ to fine first editions in their original dust jackets are not common and therefore not cheap. The early titles do now attract considerable sums. The other series are more accessable but putting a full set together is something of a daunting task.
If you are looking to buy or sell rare books then our antiquarian booksellers section may be of some assistance.

You may also Like
Arthur Ransome
Enid Blyton
Elinor Brent Dyer
Dodie Smith

Lone Pine Series

Title   Date Notes
Mystery at Witchend Newnes 1943  
Seven White Gates As Above 1944  
The Gay Dolphin Adventure As Above 1945  
The Secret of Grey Walls As Above 1947  
Lone Pine Five Newnes 1949  
The Elusive Grasshopper As Above 1951  
The Neglected Mountain As Above 1953  
Saucers Over the Moor As Above 1955  
Wings Over Witchend As Above 1956  
Lone Pine London Newnes 1957  
The Secret of the George As Above 1958  
Mystery Mine As Above 1959  
Sea Witch Comes Home As Above 1960  
Not Scarlet But Gold As Above 1962  
Treasure at Amory's As Above 1964  
Man with Three Fingers Newnes 1966  
Rye Royal Collins 1969  
Strangers at Witchend As Above 1970  
Where's My Girl As Above 1972  
Home to Witchend Armada 1978 Paperback original

Mike and Mary Series

Title   Date Notes
Trouble at Townsend Transatlantic 1945  
The Riddle of the Painted Box As Above 1947  
The Flying Fish Adventure Murray 1950  
The Secret of the Hidden Pool As Above 1953  
Where the Bus Stopped Blackwell 1955  
Young Johnny Bimbo Murray 1956  
The Fourth Key Murray 1957  

Marston Baines Series

Title   Date Notes
Three Towers in Tuscany Heinemann 1963  
The Purple Valley Ditto 1964  
Dark Danger Ditto 1965  
White Fire Heinemann 1966  
Power of Three Ditto 1968  
The Dagger and the Flame Ditto 1970  
Marston Master Spy Heinemann 1978  

Buckingham Family Series

Title   Date Notes
The Master of Maryknoll Evans 1950  
The Buckinghams at Ravenswyke Evans 1952  
The Long Passage Evans 1954  
A Palace for the Buckinghams Evans 1963  
The Secret of the Villa Rosa Collins 1971  
Diamonds in the Sky Collins 1974  

Jilly Family Series

Title   Date Notes
Redshank's Warning Lutterworth 1948  
Two Fair Plaits Ditto 1948  
Strangers at Snowfell Lutterworth 1949  
The Sign of the Alpine Rose Ditto 1950  
The Luck of Sallowby Ditto 1952  
The Ambermere Treasure Lutterworth 1953  

Susan and Bill

Title   Date Notes
Susan, Bill and the Wolf Dog Nelson 1954  
Ditto and the Ivy Clad Oak Nelson 1954  
Ditto and the Vanishing Boy Nelson 1955  
Ditto and the Golden Clock Nelson 1955  
Ditto and the Dark Stranger Nelson 1956  
Ditto and the Saucy Kate Nelson 1956  
Ditto and the Bright Star Circus Nelson 1960  
Susan, Bill and the Pirates Bold Nelson 1961  

Nettleford Series

Title   Date Notes
All Summer Through Hodder 1951  
Christmas at Nettleford Stoughton 1953  
Spring come to .. Hodder 1954  
The Secret of Buzzard Scar Hodder 1955  


Title   Date Notes
Treasure at the Mill Newnes 1957  
Four and Twenty Blackbirds Newnes 1959  
The Thin Grey Man Macmillan 1966  
Strange Story Mowbray 1967  
Good Dog Dandy Armada 1971 Paperback original
The Roman Treasure Mystery Armada 1973 As Above


Title   Date Notes
Amateur Acting Pearson 1937 as DJ Desmond
Country Scrapbook for Boys and Girls National 1944  
Open Air Scrapbook Gramol 1945  
Seaside Scrapbook Ditto 1946  
Jane's Country Year Newnes 1946  
Adventure of the Lifeboat Service Macdonald 1950  
Coronation Gift Book Pitkin 1952  
King of Kings Nelson 1958  
Small Creatures Ward 1959  
Malcolm Saville's Country Book Cassell 1961  
Ditto Seaside Book Ditto 1962  
Come to London Heinemann 1967  
Come to Devon Benn 1969  
Come to Cornwall Ditto 1969  
Come to Somerset Ditto 1970  
See How it Grows OUP 1971  
Eat What You Grow Carousel 1975 Wraps
Portrait of Rye Goulden 1976  
The Countryside Quiz Carousel 1978  
Wonder Why Book Exploring a Wood Transworld 1978  
Ditto Exploring the Seashore Ditto 1979 Paperback
Words for all Seasons Lutterworth 1979  
Wild Flowers Through the Year Transworld 1980  
Story of Winchelsea Church Winchelsea 1980 Not dated
The Seashore Quiz Carousel 1981 Wrappers
The Silent Hills of Shropshire Hanlon 1988 Softcover

All page content Bookseller World

author bibliographies

bookseller world

join us     contact us     site map