John Mortimer Bibliography

A Collectors Reference Guide

UK - US First Edition Books

      Find an Author

More Information
John Mortimer, born in 1923, is an English novelist, playwright and lawyer. He received great critical acclaim for his early novels and plays but remains best known for his fictional barrister Rumpole. This series gained even greater success with the highly successful television series featuring Leo McKern as the lead. The early novels are fairly collectable though not particularly expensive. The rest of the books can be picked up with relative ease and without great expense. There are not many authors of this calibre that can be collected within a reasonable budget. The fact that the majority of his most popular books were first issued by Penguin as paperback originals has undoubtedly had a negative effect on the value and collectability of his work.
If you are looking to buy or sell books then our find a bookseller section may be of some assistance.

You may also Like
Malcolm Bradbury
David Lodge
Keith Waterhouse
Evelyn Waugh

Title   Date Notes
Charade Bodley 1947 US: 1986 Viking
Rumming Park Lane 1948  
Answer Yes or No Lane 1950 US: 1950 Morrow as The Silver hook
Like Men Betrayed Collins 1953 US: 1954 Lippincott
The Narrowing Stream Collins 1954 US: 1989 Viking
Three Winters Collins 1956  
With Love and Lizards Joseph 1957 with Penelope Mortimer
No Moaning at the Bar Bles 1957 as Geoffrey Lincoln
Three Plays Elek 1958 US: 1962 Grove
The Wrong Side of the Park Heinemann 1960  
Lunch Hour French 1960 wraps, then Methuen
Two Stars for Comfort Methuen 1962  
A Flea in Her Ear French 1967  
The judge Methuen 1967  
Five Plays Methuen 1970  
Come as You Are Methuen 1971  
A Voyage Around My Father Methuen 1971  
Knightsbridge French 1973 wraps
Collaborations Methuen 1973  
Will Shakespeare Hodder 1977 US: 1978 Delacorte
The Fear of Heaven French 1978 wraps
Heaven and Hell French 1978 wraps
Rumpole of the Bailey Penguin 1978 US: 1980 Penguin, both wraps
The Trials of Rumpole Penguin 1979 US: 1981 penguin, both wraps
Rumpole's Return Penguin 1981 US: 1982 Penguin, both wraps
Rumpole for the Defence Penguin 1982 UK wraps
Clinging to the Wreckage Nicolson 1982 US: 1982 Ticknor
In Character Lane 1983  
Rumpole and the Golden Thread Penguin 1983 US wraps
Edwin and Other Plays Penguin 1984 wrappers
Three Boulevard Farces Penguin 1985 softcover
Paradise Postponed Viking 1985 US: 1985 Viking
Character Parts Viking 1986  
R..... Last Case Penguin 1987 US: 1988 Viking both wraps
Summer's Lease Viking 1988 US: 1988 Viking, US signed limited also available
R.... and the Age of Miracles Penguin 1988 US: 1989 Penguin, both wraps
Rumpole a la Carte Viking 1990 US: 1990 Viking
Titmuss Regained Viking 1990 US: 1990 Viking
R...... on Trial Viking 1992 US: 1992 Penguin
Dunster Viking 1992 US: 1993 Viking
Murderers and Other Friends Viking 1984 US: 1994 Viking
R.. and the Angel of Death Viking 1995 US: 1996 Penguin
Felix in the Underworld Viking 1997 US: 1997 Viking
The Sound of Trumpets Viking 1998 US: 1999 Viking
R... Rest His Case Viking 2001 US: 2001 Viking

bibliography section

bookseller world

join us     contact us     site map