Denys Watkins Pitchford BB

A Guide to UK First Edition Books

Buy Books by Denys Watkins Pitchford

      Find an Author

Brief Biography
Denys Watkins-Pitchford, better known as BB, the BB by-line was used for his country based writing, whilst he used his full name for his second career, an illustrator. His books are sought after on many levels, anglers, illustrated book collectors, children's book collectors and of course anyone who loves the countryside. Confessions of a Carp Fisher is regarded as a classic title amongst fishermen as are the Bill Badger books amongst collectors of juvenile books. Some titles remain in print but anyone seeking rare, secondhand or first edition books can consult our find a bookseller section.

The wonder of the world, the beauty and the power, the shapes of things, their colours, lights and shades; these I saw. Look ye also while life lasts.

You may also Like
Richard Walker
Bernard Venables

Literature / Non Fiction - Denys Watkins Pitchford BB
Title   Date Notes
Sportsmans Bedside book Eyre & Spottiswoode 1937  
Wild Lone Eyre & Spottiswoode 1938  
Manka the Sky Gypsy Eyre & Spottiswoode 1939  
Countrymans Bedside Book Eyre & Spottiswoode 1941  
The Idle Countryman Eyre & Spottiswoode 1943  
Fishermans Bedside Book Eyre & Spottiswoode 1945  
The Wayfaring Tree Hollis 1945  
Shooting Mans Bedside Book Eyre & Spottiswoode 1948  
A Stream in our Garden Eyre & Spottiswoode 1948  
Be Quiet and Go A Angling Lutterworth 1949 as Michael Traherne
Confessions of a Carp Fisher Eyre & Spottiswoode 1950  
Letters from Compton Deverell Eyre & Spottiswoode 1950  
Tides Ending Hollis 1950  
Dark Estuary Hollis 1953  
A Carp Water - Wood Pool Putnam 1958 Fisherman's Choice Series
Autumn Road to the Isles Kaye 1959  
The White Road Westwards Kaye 1961  
The September Road Kaye 1962  
Pegasus Book of the Countryside Dobson 1964  
Summer Road to Wales Kaye 1964  
A Summer on the Nene Kaye 1967  
Recollections Longshore Gunner Boydell 1976  
A Child Alone Michael Joseph 1978  
Ramblings Sportsman Naturalist Michael Joseph 1979  
Naturalists Bedside Book Michael Joseph 1980  
The Quiet Fields Michael Joseph 1981  
Indian Summer Michael Joseph 1984  
The Best of BB Michael Joseph 1985  
Fishermans Folly Boydell 1987 paperback

Children's Books - Denys Watkins Pitchford BB
Title   Date Notes
The Little Grey Men Eyre & Spottiswoode 1942  
Brendon Chase Hollis 1944  
Down the Bright Stream Eyre & Spottiswoode 1948 not dated
BB's Fairy Book Hollis 1948  
The Wind in the Wood Hollis 1952  
Forest of Boland Light Railway Eyre & Spottiswoode 1955  
Monty Woodpig's Caravan Ward 1957  
Ben the Bullfinch Hamilton 1957  
Wandering Wind Hamilton 1957  
Alexander Blackwell 1958 not dated
Monty Woodpig Bubblebuzz Car Ward 1958  
Mr Bumstead Eyre & Spottiswoode 1958  
The Wizard of Boland Ward 1959  
Bill Badgers Winter Cruise Hamilton 1959  
Bill Badger and the Pirates Hamilton 1960  
Bill Badger's Finest Hour Hamilton 1961  
Badgers of Bearshanks Methuen 1961  
Bill Badgers Whispering Reeds Benn 1962  
Lepus the Brown Hare Hamilton 1962  
Bill Badgers Big Mistake Benn 1963  
Bill Badger Big Store Robbery Hamilton 1967  
The Whopper Benn 1967  
At the Back of O Ben Dee Benn 1968  
Bill Badgers Voyage to Worlds End Ward 1969  
The Tyger Tray Methuen 1971  
Pool of the Black Witch Methuen 1974  
Lord of the Forest Methuen 1975  

Buy Books by Denys Watkins Pitchford

bibliography section

bookseller world

join us     contact us     site map