AEW Mason Bibliography

A Collectors Reference Guide

UK First Edition Books

Buy Books by A.E.W Mason

Novels by AEW Mason
Title   Date Notes
A Romance of Wastdale Elkin 1895  
The Courtship of Morrice Buckler Macmillan 1896  
The Philanderers Macmillan 1897  
Lawrence Clavering Innes 1899  
Miranda of the Balcony Macmillan 1899  
The Watchers Arrowsmith 1899  
Parson Kelly Longmans 1900 with Andrew Lang
Clementina Methuen 1901  
The Four Feathers Smith Elder 1902  
The Truants Smith Elder 1904  
Running Water Hodder & Stoughton 1907  
The Broken Road Smith Elder 1907 not dated
At the Villa Rose Hodder & Stoughton 1910  
The Turnstile Hodder & Stoughton 1912 not dated
The Witness for the Defence Hodder & Stoughton 1913 not dated
The Summons Hodder & Stoughton 1920 not dated
The Winding Stair Hodder & Stoughton 1923 not dated
The House of the Arrow Hodder & Stoughton 1923 not dated
No Other Tiger Hodder & Stoughton 1927  
The Prisoner in the Opal Hodder & Stoughton 1928 not dated
The Dean's Elbow Hodder & Stoughton 1930  
The Three Gentlemen Hodder & Stoughton 1932  
The Sapphire Hodder & Stoughton 1933  
The Wouldn't be Chessmen Hodder & Stoughton 1935  
Fire Over England Hodder & Stoughton 1936  
The Drum Hodder & Stoughton 1937  
Konigsmark Hodder & Stoughton 1938  
Musk and Amber Hodder & Stoughton 1942  
The House in Lordship Lane Hodder & Stoughton 1946  

Short Stories by AEW Mason
Title   Date Notes
Ensign Knightley and other Stories Constable 1901  
The Four Corners Hodder & Stoughton 1917  
Dilemas Hodder & Stoughton 1934  

Title   Date Notes
The Witness for the Defence Samuel French 1913 not dated, wrappers
Green Stockings Samuel French 1914 not dated, wrappers
At the Villa Rose Hodder & Stoughton 1928 not dated

Non Fiction
Title   Date Notes
The Royal Exchange Royal Exchange 1920 nd
Sir George Alexander Macmillan 1935  
The Life of Sir Francis Drake Hodder 1941  

Find an Author

More Information
AEW Mason may not be as well known to the present generation as he should but collectors and those aware of his work are fully aware of his importance. Born Alfred Edward Woodley Mason on 7th May 1865 in Camberwell, England he was educated at Dulwich then Trinity College Oxford. After leaving college he spent 8 years as a touring actor before becoming a writer. He met with early success and soon became a respected author. It was to publication of his most famous novel, The Four Feathers, that propelled him to the forefront of his genre. He travelled extensively and also became a member of parliament. He enlisted to fight in World War I despite being 40 years old. He passed away in 1948, aged 84, having lived a life as full and adventurous as any of his characters.
His early titles in jacket are rare and sought after by collectors.
If you are looking to buy or sell  books then our find a bookseller section may be of some assistance.

You may also Like
Erskine Childers
John Buchan
CS Forester

Buy Books by A.E.W Mason

bibliography section

bookseller world

join us     contact us     site map